Peninsula Community Health

Cornwall Wheelchair Service

Who is The Service Provided For?

We provide for children with specialist wheelchair needs and adults who require standard or specialist wheelchairs who are all registered with a GP in Cornwall or the Isles of Scilly.  Children meeting the Children’s Wheelchair Eligibility Criteria who require a standard wheelchair should approach their community therapist for assessment and provision.

Wheelchair Service

What Our Service Does?

We assess people with long term mobility problems who require a wheelchair for longer than a period of 6 months.  The mobility problems will affect your participation in everyday activities and the provision of a wheelchair will help to support your independence. All equipment is provided on a long term loan basis for as long as your clinical need requires it and you continue to meet the eligibility criteria.  The provision of equipment is subject to the eligibility criteria as set by the Kernow Clinical Commissioning Group (KCCG).

Our Wheelchair Service Information leaflet gives information and guidance of the Wheelchair Service and referral process.

If you require a wheelchair or buggy for a short term clinical need, (six months or less) you should approach your GP or other Healthcare Professional involved in your care.  They can arrange a short term loan chair. 

If you require a temporary wheelchair only for occasional use there are several local companies and charities that can provide chairs for hire or purchase.  See Wheelchair Loan and Purchase Providers for suggested contacts and guidance when choosing a suitable wheelchair. 

Mobility Committee

The Mobility Committee links wheelchair users and their carers across Cornwall.   

Whenever possible a wheelchair service representative will be present at their meetings to discuss any views and opinions relating to the wheelchair service.

If you are interested in joining the group or have any service related issues you would like raised via the group, then please contact the Chair, June Hackett at .