Peninsula Community Health
Care is our business 6 Cs logo

Dignity and Compassion in Care - the 6 C's

As part of the wider health community we have signed up to a 3 year vision and strategy called Compassion in Practice. Compassion in Practice is based around six values we feel really strongly about - care, compassion, courage, communication, competence and commitment. We know that to improve patient experience and deliver the highest quality of care we all need get involved and take action at all levels. 

Nurse taking Notes with a Patient

We are working hard to build on a culture of compassionate care and embed these values, known as the Six C’s, in the work of nursing, midwifery and care staff to improve care for patients throughout the NHS and social care.

Our work on the Six C's is set around six areas of action where we have the opportunity to make a real difference for patients and the people we care for.


Click for more information about each action area using the links below: 

  • Action area 1: helping people to stay independent, maximising well-being and improving health outcomes
  • Action area 2: working with people to provide a positive experience of care
  • Action area 3: delivering high quality care and measuring impact
  • Action area 4: building and strengthening leadership
  • Action area 5: ensuring we have the right staff, with the right skills, in the right place
  • Action Area 6: supporting positive staff experience

Matron with patient and relatives

For more information visit the Department of Health for the following policies:

  • Vision for district nursing
  • Making a Difference in Dementia: Nursing Vision and Strategy
  • Treating patients and service users with respect, dignity and compassion